Home Memberships Contact Restaurant



Directions and Map

LeRoy Country Club is easy to find
from any direction.

  • From the North

    Take 490 West to Exit 1 (LeRoy).
    Follow Route 19 south to LeRoy.
    Turn left at Route 5 & go 1.5 miles.
    LeRoy Country Club is on the left.

  • From the East

    Take the Thruway to Exit 47 (LeRoy).
    Follow Route 19 south to LeRoy.
    Turn left at Route 5 & go 1.5 miles.
    LeRoy Country Club is on the left.
    OR
    Take Rte 5 west to Caledonia.
    Go 6 miles from Caledonia.
    LeRoy Country Club is on the right.

  • From the South

    Follow Route 19 north to LeRoy.
    Turn right at Route 5 & go 1.5 miles.
    LeRoy Country Club is on the left.

  • From the West

    Take the Thruway to Exit 47 (LeRoy).
    Follow Route 19 south to LeRoy.
    Turn left at Route 5 & go 1.5 miles.
    LeRoy Country Club is on the left.
    OR
    Take Route 5 east to LeRoy Village.
    Go 1.5 miles past Route 19.
    LeRoy Country Club is on the left.







Weather

LEROY WEATHER






Latest News

Important Notes
Restaurant is now open Fridays
Serving from 12 pm until 8 pm
Plenty of Fish Specials during the Lenten Season for Lunch and Dinner

Follow us on FaceBook at LeRoy Country Club

Call us at 768-6000 to book your Parties, Bridal Showers, Baby Showers, Weddings, and Cater Outs

#BeKind #GoodFood #GreatService

Come join our team!

As the summer season approaches, we are looking to grow our team of servers and bar staff.

Must be 18+ y.o. to apply - required by NY state to handle alcohol.

MUST have RELIABLE transportation, weekend availability, and attention to detail. Experience is highly preferred.

Please don't hesitate to reach out with any questions. Call us at (585)768-6000, email directly at reschmikayla@gmail.com or just stop in, in person! We look forward to meeting you!








Reciprocal Clubs

The LeRoy Country Club has reciprocal club arrangements for members with a number of other golf courses. We are in the process of updating the list of reciprocal clubs and will post them soon.






History of the Club

Select the history chapter below
that you would like to know
more about.

Course Beginnings
by Lynne Belluschio

In 1930, Donald Woodward, the youngest son of Jell-O magnate, Orator Woodward, announced that he was going to build Le Roy's first public nine-hole golf course. It was to be located on the North side of East Main Road, opposite his huge stock barn on the corner of Asbury Road. He had already been bitten by the golf craze and had erected lights at his airport for a driving range. The Gazette ran an article that mentioned that at first there were not enough lights to see the golf balls but improvements had been made and that there was a "great fascination seeing the balls soar through the rays of the lights."

Woodward had noticed that a lot of people were playing miniature golf and he noted that they really wanted to play regulation golf but couldn't afford it. He told a friend,

history photo

"It seems a pity that all those people cannot enjoy the real pleasures of real golf on a real golf course." His plans for a regulation 9-hole course were soon on the drawing board. Eventually, the golf course, the airport, a gun club and target range, a baseball diamond and a "way-side inn" were all part of his holdings.

Woodward created the plans for his golf course based on his "observations and experience of what constitutes a good golf course." He said that he did not intend to make the course as difficult as possible but there would be hazards and difficulties. It was noted that the land was ideally suited for a golf course with a rolling landscape and a creek. In the meantime, Don was converting his stock barn into a miniature golf course. The construction of the water hazard (pond) cost $4,000.

The First Pro
by Lynne Belluschio

In April, 1931, it was announced that "Coot" Webber was hired to be the golf pro at the new golf course. Coot was the former West High and Rochester champion scholastic golfer. Although Coot was "but a youngster" he had an impressive record of golf conquests and experiences.

After he graduated from high school, he worked as a pro at the Elkdale County Club in Salamanca for four years. He also served as assistant pro to Bill Nagell at the Stafford Country Club and assistant pro at Genesee Valley Park course in Rochester.

The nine hole "pay as you play" golf course opened on July 1st,

history photo

1931, covering about 30 acres between the highway and the railroad tracks. "The contour of the land affords a number of medium size hills and these have been utilized to provide a sporty course. There is a water hole - the bane of all golfers, and a lot of other interesting features."

The new golf course had a sunken irrigation system with hundreds of little sprinkler heads imbedded in the greens. Rates for the course were $1 for nine holes. A ticket for ten 9-hole games was $7.50. Daily rates which entitled a player to play all day long, varied from $2.50 to $2.00. The Gazette mentioned that there was a golf house near tee #1 and showers and lockers were available at the Barn across the street.

Aerial Golf
by Lynne Belluschio

Weekends, when there were huge crowds at the airport, there were games of aerial golf. Russ Holderman explained the rules. "The team is composed of a golfer and a pilot. The pilot drops the ball from the plane on or as near the green as he can, then his partner, the golfer, holes it."

history photo

"The game was played for the first time in Western New York here. We are going to invite players and pilots from the different fields for a tournament and give prizes soon."

Expansion to 18 Holes
by Lynne Belluschio

By 1936, the Barn, which has been converted from an indoor miniature golf course into a restaurant, and had not been a financial success, was being sold at auction. The gold course had been transferred from Don to his younger sister, Helen, who was a "devotee of the ancient and honorable game of golf."

Helen undertook a number of improvements. She built a "tidy little club house, completely equipped." Helen enlarged the course from a 9-hole to an 18-hole course. The work was

history photo

begun in September 1935. Earl Seely was in charge of the 25-man work crew and it was mentioned that the work force was to be doubled in order to complete the work in time to reopen in 1936.

Five holes were added on the east side, adjacent to the Ribstone Silo Company. The other four holes were built on the West side, west of the present #6 hole. So with the financial backing, and determination of Donald and Helen Woodward, Le Roy gained its public golf course, so that as Donald said, people could play real golf on a real golf course.

The Ed Mills Years
by Lynne Belluschio

At the end of the 2006 season, Ed Mills decided to step down from his position as Head Pro at the Le Roy Country Club after holding the spot for thirty-three years.

Ed's love for the game is long standing. He began as a caddy at the age of 10 and has worked all aspects of the game. Through the years Ed has worked on the course, in the locker room and eventually in the Pro Shop. In 1965, he became Assistant Pro under Joe Redanty and finally head Golf Professional in 1974.

At the time Ed became Assistant Pro, LeRoy Country Club was owned by Bra Cal Realty who had purchased it in the early 60s.

history photo

In 1985, the course was purchased by Gomil Enterprises. Ed was a part of that ownership group for over 20 years until several years ago. Most recently, the course was purchased by Jim Gomborone in 2004. Despite a degree in economics from Brockport State College, Ed chose a career in the sport of golf and has no regrets. He stills holds the course record of 61 at LeRoy Country Club that he set at the age of 27 when he was the Assistant Pro. The record has been standing for over 35 years and will probably never be broken.

Ed is known for his knowledge and love of the game, his fairness, easy demeanor and ready smile. One would be hard placed to find anyone in the surrounding area who holds a greater knowledge of the game.




Local Attractions

Select the local attraction below
that you would like to know
more about.

Either before or after a round of golf, visit the historic Village of LeRoy with its tree lined streets and classic Victorian houses. Nestled along the scenic Oatka Creek, LeRoy is one of the most beautiful villages in Western New York and offers you a relaxed, quiet atmosphere, away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

The annual LeRoy OatkaFest is held on a weekend in the middle of July from 10:00 am - 6:00 pm on Saturday and from 10:00 am - 5:00 pm on Sunday. The festival is at Trigon Park in the center of town and the adjacent school grounds and banks of the Oatka Creek. Free parking and free admission makes this annual community festival a very popular family event.

attractions photo
 
 
 
 

The festival features a Saturday parade, a large craft show, an avenue of food booths plus non-stop entertainment for the entire family.

Discover the rich history of LeRoy at the historic 1822 LeRoy House and Jell-O Gallery Museum. See the LeRoy Historical Society's "On the Road," an exhibit exploring over 100 years of transportation including a 1908 Cadillac, and the story of why Henry Ford was arrested for speeding in LeRoy. Just minutes away from LeRoy in Mumford, you can take a step back in time and experience what life was like in the Genesee Valley in the 1800s at the Genesee Country Village.

The Jell-O Gallery Museum

One of the most unique features of LeRoy is that it is the Birthplace of Jell-O, "America's Most Famous Dessert" in 1897. Located behind the Historic LeRoy House, the Jell-O Museum houses an informative exhibit gallery and entertaining gift shop with a variety of items all designed with America’s Most Famous dessert in mind.

attractions photo
 
 
 
 

Hours Open Daily April - Dec
10 am - 4 pm
   
Admission Adults - 12,   $4.00.
Ages 11 - 6,   $1.50
Under 6, Free
   
Address 23 East Main St.
LeRoy, NY 14482
585-768-7433
   
Website jellogallery.org
   
   
   

Historic LeRoy House

Experience 100 years of LeRoy's unique history as you tour the LeRoy House. Built in 1822 as a home for Jacob LeRoy, land agent for the 86,000 acre Triangle Tract, the museum has three floors open to the public.

Learn about LeRoy's Ingham University, founded in 1837, the first women's university to grant a four-year degree. Discover how LeRoy became the birthplace of the stringless green bean cultivated by Calvin Keeney. Take an optional 17-mile driving tour that explores our involvement in the perilous Underground Railroad journey of slaves to freedom before the Civil War.

attractions photo
 
 
 
 

Hours Open May - October
Hours may vary
Call for info
   
Admission   Donations accepted
   
Address 23 East Main St.
LeRoy, NY 14482
585-768-7433
   
Website leroyhistoricalsociety.org
   
   
   

Genesee Country
Village & Museum


The Genesee Country Village & Museum, New York State's largest outdoor living history museums, has the largest collection of historic buildings in the East, and is only ten minutes away in nearby Mumford. Over 60 19th-century buildings have been moved to the site, restored to their original condition, and furnished with period furniture. Learn about life in 1800s Genesee country from "villagers" in period dress as you stroll through the village. Live demonstrations take place every day.

attractions photo
 
 
 
 

Hours Open May - October
Closed Mons, except hols
Tues - Fri: 10am - 4pm
Sat, Sun: 10am - 5pm.
Holidays: 10 am - 5pm.
   
Admission Adults:     $14
Seniors:   $11
Students:    $11
Ages 4-16:   $8
Under 4:   Free
   
Address Genesee Country Village
1410 Flint Hill Road
Mumford, NY 14511
585-538-6822
   
Website www.gcv.org
   
   
   

7759 East Main Rd
LeRoy, NY 14482

Pro Shop: 585-768-7330
Restaurant: 585-768-6000

  © 2024 LeRoy Country Club